Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Unlocking Sitecore items leads to Anonymous Update

In Sitecore 6.6, if a content author unlocks his locked Sitecore items (using Review / My Items command), Sitecore executes a job and unlocks the items. When it unlocks, it also updates the item’s modified details with anonymous user.

Below item was modified by a test user using Lock and Edit.


Once user unlock the item using Sitecore unlock feature, the item will be updated by anonymous user. 


Sitecore support team has acknowledged this as a bug (#416532) and have provided a fix.

- Place the assembly in the bin folder. 

- Replace the following lines in your Website/App_Config/Commands.config file:

   <!-- <command name="webedit:unlock" type="Sitecore.Shell.Applications.WebEdit.Commands.Unlock,Sitecore.Client"/>-->
   <!-- <command name="webedit:unlockall" type="Sitecore.Shell.Applications.WebEdit.Commands.UnlockAll,Sitecore.Client"/>-->
   <command name="webedit:unlock" type="Sitecore.Support.Shell.Applications.WebEdit.Commands.Unlock, Sitecore.Support.338528"/>
   <command name="webedit:unlockall" type="Sitecore.Support.Shell.Applications.WebEdit.Commands.UnlockAll, Sitecore.Support.338528"/>

Articles

Automatically create new version for Lock & Edit without workflow

Sitecore will create a new version on Lock and Edit if the item is tied to a workflow. For our case, version has to be created even withou...